Posted by: myroadtoemmaus | February 27, 2008

on this one will i look

For the last two weeks, my prayer room team (the team I brief and de-brief with each morning) has been focusing on the first two verses of Isaiah 66. It goes like this:

“Thus says the Lord, Heaven is my throne, and earth is my footstool.
Where is the house that you will build me? Where is my resting place?
For all those things my hand has made, and all those things exist.
But on this ONE will I look: On him who is poor and of a contrite spirit
And who trembles at my word.

 

 

I imagine it this way. So, God, whose throne is in Heaven and who rests his feet on this earth is looking for a resting place. He is ruler of Heaven and earth, King of kings, Lord of lords, and He wants a place to rest. After searching through the heavens and through the earth, He decides that the most worthy object of His gaze is… a person. And it is not just any person, mind you. It is a person with a poor and contrite spirit. It is a person who trembles at His word. These two verses trouble me immensely. Here’s why.

I have spent the last 23 years building, shaping, molding, fixing, and trying desperately to become someone that is looked upon. I’ll be honest- I love attention. I love being the center of attention. I love when people want to listen to what I am saying. I love when people want to be around me. Here’s the problem. The person that I have tried to become is the opposite of the person whom God says that He will look upon. The verse is not, “But on this one will I look: On him who tries to be cool, funny, really successful, creative, beloved by the whole earth.”

It makes perfect sense, really. The gospel is simple. Jesus didn’t come for the healthy. He came for the sick. He came for the ones who didn’t have it all together so that in their poverty of spirit- in their embrace of the fact that they do not have it all together- they will humble themselves enough to say “yes” to needing a Savior.

So what will I do? Well, I will wake up tomorrow morning and do the same thing that I am going to do every morning until God says that it is time to leave this place and move on to somewhere else. I will sit in the Prayer Room and strive (yes, strive) to be a resting place for this wonderful God that I have the privilege of serving. What does it mean to be a resting place? Well, give me a few years and maybe I will have something to tell you!

Leave a Reply

Categories

