Posted by: myroadtoemmaus | March 26, 2008

“He shall see the labor of His soul…”

“He shall see the labor of His soul and be satisfied.”

 What an extraordinary promise.  Isaiah 53 is a beautiful chapter that prophesies about the coming King- the Savior who will have “no beauty that we should desire Him”, who will bear the “chastisement for our peace”, who will be “led as a lamb to the slaughter”.  The chapter goes on to say that it “pleased the Lord to bruise [Jesus]”.  What kind of God is this that would be pleased to ‘bruise’ his son?  I spent most of this morning thinking about Him… and realizing that I barely knew Him. 

The verse, however, that completely captivated me was this:  “He shall see the labor of His soul and be satisfied.”  The labor of His soul..  that which Jesus endured… that which He yielded Himself to- the mockery, the betrayal, the crown of thorns, the agonizing pain, and the taunts of the crowd– “Come down from there.  You say that you are God!  Why can’t you come down off of that cross?!”  And I thought to myself:  When He looks at my life, does He consider the labor of His soul satisfying? 

 What a sobering thought.  I wondered if I was walking in the authority that His ‘labor’ enables me to walk in.  I wondered if I was drawing as near to the throne of grace as His ‘labor’ allows me to draw.  I wondered about the times that I didn’t think to ask or pray for somebody’s (or my own) body to be healed (since it is by His stripes that we are healed).  I wondered about the times when I buried myself in shame.  I wondered about the times when I thought that my own failure and sin was too much.  As my mind wondered (and wandered), I couldn’t help but see the smile of Jesus- the jealous yet tender smile of Jesus.  And here’s the crazy thing:  He knew!!  He knew, while nailed to the cross, every time that I would curse Him, spit on Him, as well as add to the number of stripes upon His back.  He knew how I would fall and fall and fall again.  He knew that many would never turn to Him- that many would never accept the free gift of His grace and salvation- and yet He did it anyways… scorning the shame of being GOD upon a cross… for the JOY set before Him. 

And so I did the only thing that I knew to do:  I just started to say “thank you”.. 

Responses

  1. i love your blog. truly 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

