Posted by: myroadtoemmaus | May 14, 2008

early in the morning

I’ll be honest and say that I’m just not a “morning person”.  I have secretly always wanted to be an early riser.  I have envied those who wake up on their own, enjoy a nice cup of coffee, and are seemingly at peace as they leave the house to begin their day.  I, on the other hand, am snooze-happy, constantly miss breakfast, and rarely leave before 7:27am, knowing all too well that it takes more than 3 minutes to drive to IHOP, park, and race into the prayer room to meet my team each morning at 7:30 sharp.

Just last week, my prayer team leader asked if I would co-lead our prayer team.  Having been there since day 1 of the team and loving it immensely, I gladly agreed.  Ten minutes later, he informed me that our team was going to be switching up our schedule and that instead of being in the prayer room from 8-12 in the morning, we were going to meet from 6-12am on Tuesdays and Wednesdays.  If you ask me, I think the Lord was suckering me into becoming an early riser!

This morning was our first morning on the new schedule.  Although I battled the yawns and heavy eye lids, there was something really sweet about singing and praying so early in the morning.  While much of the city was still asleep, we were praying for them.  We were praying for the earthquake victims in China.  We were praying for justice in our nation.  I looked around at the 100 or so people in the room with me and realized that I, surprisingly enough, had been missing out these past few months.  Don’t get me wrong.  You probably won’t see me in the prayer room at 6am every morning.  Nonetheless, it felt like a privilege to wake up and give the Lord my “firsts” of the day. 

It reminds me of lyrics from one of my favorite hymns: 

“holy, holy, holy, lord god almighty.  early in the morning, our song shall rise to thee.”

Responses

  1. Having always had to live and function as an owl among larks, or maybe as a bird that sings brightest later in the day, i relate to this so very well. Try as I might for a lifetime, I still haven’t overcome it. Once up, I do enjoy the early morning, but to this day, I can’t seem to do it on a regular basis. I’m proud of you for doing something all the early birds don’t even know is difficult! The Lord knows. He made us! When I see you in the prayer room so early, I’ll know how to pray for you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

