Posted by: myroadtoemmaus | July 28, 2008

tenderness

I have been laid out with a pounding headache and a cold today…  and ironically enough, I am appreciating it.  You see, I am often under the false assumption that I am actually self sufficient.  I can manage things on my own.  I can take care of myself… it goes on and on.  Well on days like these, when it feels like somebody is squeezing my temples with a giant pair of pliers, I can’t do much of anything on my own.  Lying in bed, hoping to just ‘sleep it off’, I come face to face with the reality that I really don’t have that much to offer.  I am reminded of Jesus’ words to the Church of Laodicea.  The Laodiceans thought that they had it all and Jesus matter-of-factly informs them that they are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked.  Try to let that soak in for a minute!  And then kindly remind yourself that Jesus came for the wretched and the pitiful and the poor and the blind and the naked.  He didn’t come for the healthy.  He came for the sick.  He didn’t come for the righteous.  He came for the sinners.  And it’s those who are poor in spirit who will inherit the Kingdom. 

On days like these, my true spiritual status is more accurate than the days where I feel like I have it all together.  And the result of this realization is tenderness.  Even now, I am listening to these lyrics..

“I’m so in love with you.  I’m so in love with you.  I’m so in love with you, Jesus.”

Simple.  I feel His love and His delight over me, just as I am, and it causes tears to well up in my eyes.  I can’t fully explain it, but I sure am grateful for it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

