Posted by: myroadtoemmaus | December 6, 2008

I should probably explain..

I should probably explain my previous post about my desire for a Christmas tree.  You see, my family often went to Charleston for Christmas when I Was in high school and college and so my dad mostly opted out of putting up a Christmas tree when we wouldn’t even be there.  (He decorated in other ways…  my dad is no grinch!)

Fast forward a few years to December of 2006.  Russell and I had been dating for a few months and I was living in the Baker’s guest house in Ivy.  After having dinner with my good friend, Anna Kate, at El Puerto, I came out to my car to find two little boxes on my hood.  I eagerly opened them to find two beautiful ornaments.  A little surprised, but nontheless very happy, I didn’t think too much of it. 

A few hours later, after closing at Arch’s, I drove into the Baker’s driveway to see my little apartment all lit up!  I ran inside to see the most beautiful Christmas tree decorated just the way that I like it.  Russell had outdone himself, for sure. 

Fast forward one month:  The Bakers were starting a burn pile and asked that I bring my tree out to the pile.  Russell came over to help.  As he reached through the branches to grab the trunk, he let out a scream as about 8 dozen pine needles fell to the ground.  In a moment of sheer disillusionment, he exclaimed, “When was the last time you watered this thing?!?!”

My response?  “I was supposed to water it?!?!”

Now you can see why Russell was so hesitant to putting up a tree this year.  But for those of you who know my husband, you know that he is always up for an adventure.  So today, in just a few minutes when Russell is done sealing the shower he tiled this week (!), we are heading out to our very first Christmas Tree Farm to cut down our first Christmas Tree! 

tree

Leave a Reply

Categories

