Posted by: myroadtoemmaus | December 22, 2008

“while you were out” capps edition

Poor Russell:     So, my wonderful husband flew home to throw his mom a surprise birthday party this weekend.  She turns 60 today… but unfortunately for her (and for him), she was sick on Friday and said something to the effect of, “I hope you aren’t planning anything for tonight, because I’m feeling under the weather”. 

Lucky Russell:  Little does he know (especially because he doesn’t read this blog!), when he arrives home late on Monday night, he’ll be in for a mighty good surprise!  While he was away, I tackled the next room to be renovated:  the office.  And by tackled, I mean worked my tail off all day Saturday, all day Sunday, and am going to add the finishing touches tomorrow.  I primed.  I painted.  I moved in the furniture.  I unpacked all of the boxes left from our move.  I found Russell’s diplomas and ran to Gordman’s to pick up some frames.  I even hung the frames (You would be proud, Dad), using the new drill my dad bought us as part of our house warming gift.  I set up his desk.  I filled the bookshelves.  And I even purchased a rug from Target to top it off. 

Poor Russell:  He’s making the 17-hour drive home from VA tomorrow…. by himself…. without even a CD player.

Lucky Russell:  “While you were out” Capps edition could make anyone smile after a long drive. 

Here’s a picture of what the office used to look like (remember, it was a foreclosure that we bought!).

bedroom2

Pictures of the after product will be posted soon.  🙂

Responses

  1. ah… tease!!! I can’t wait to see it! I gave Russell some truffles for the drive, but told him he’d be in trouble if there weren’t any left for you! =) We’ll call you Thurs if not before.

  2. Oops – forgot to add my info – did the truffles give me away??

  3. So fun! You are such a good little wife! Can’t wait to see the end result…I presonally would have kept the pink!

  4. correction…PERsonally.


Leave a Reply

Categories

