Posted by: myroadtoemmaus | March 15, 2009

do you remember…

There is a song that has been on repeat in my car for the last several days.  It has to do with the simplicity of the gospel and I find myself listening to it, resonating with it, longing for what it describes, and asking the Lord for that simplicity again.  Here are the lyrics:

“Do you remember, do you remember the first time when you felt His presence, the presence of the Spirit?  ‘Cause He’s a person with emotions, with thoughts, and He wants to talk to you.  He wants to get to know you.  Do you remember when you felt His presence for the first time?  And He’s like wind.  He’s like rain.  He’s like fire.  He’s like oil.  He’s the anointed.  And some of you are needing a fresh infilling.  You are needing a touch from the Spirit.  And He said, ‘How much more will I give my Spirit?  I give generously.  I give freely.’  Are you hungry?  Are you open?  Do you believe?  Because all you have to have is hunger.  All you have to be is open.  All you have to do is believe in your heart that He will come to you.  He will come to you.  He will touch you today.  He will give you strength, renew your vision, renew your heart, your mind in clarity and understanding, in wisdom.  So if you are hungry, if you’re open, if you believe, open up your hands and receive the Spirit, receive the Spirit.  For He’s like wind.  He’s like rain.  He’s like fire.  He’s like oil.”

Could it really be that simple?  All I have to have is hunger?  All I have to be is open?  All I have to do is believe?  Is the bar really set that low?  Could it really be that easy?  If so, no wonder it’s the best news in the world. 

This morning, as I sat in my car in the driveway, not wanting to turn off the song, I just let all of it wash over me as I cried away the burdens and the chaos and the struggles of yesterday.  I just want Him.  I barely know Him– but from what I do know, I just want Him.  Nothing on this earth satisfies.  No one loves like He does.  He is more real than I know and He is far better than I could ever imagine.

Responses

  1. Hey, I’ve never been on here before but I’ve been trying to find that song you mentioned. Do you by any chance know the title and who sings it? It would be a great help. A great deal of my friends and I have been trying to find the song!

  2. Hey, I’ve never been on here before but I’ve been trying to find that song you mentioned. Do you by any chance know the title and who sings it? It would be a great help. A great deal of my friends and I have been trying to find the song!

    If you do reply, please reply to this as it will notify me 🙂

    • “He is Like” by Tim Cone and Joy Maves

  3. This song rocks my world I listen to it like every morning. I’m not sure who the singer is I know it’s on a IHOP KC limited cd but it’s like the most anointed oracle thing ever. Gives me goosebumps.

  4. The song is called, “He is like” and I have only found it (so far) on the Limited Edition Volume 20 CD, put out by IHOP, (Aug-Sept 2008) on the second CD of the set. Here’s a link: http://www.ihop.org/Publisher/Article.aspx?ID=1000023687. Hope that helps!

  5. You can also listen to this track free via Tim Cone’s myspace. It is the third track, titled “He’s Like SpontaneousFlow Pt2”. This is the link:
    http://www.myspace.com/timcone

    Amazing stuff.


Leave a Reply

Categories

