Posted by: myroadtoemmaus | July 16, 2009

heading “home”

Here’s what I have been pondering lately:

1.  Paul says that we ought to be content in all circumstances.  He commanded us to rejoice always.  I’m not very good at this. When things are hard in my life, I tend clam up, cry a little, and wallow a lot.  At the root of it all, I see myself trying to hang onto the expecations that I have for my life.  I cling to what I think my life should be like.  Even in my moments of surrender, rarely do I feel content.  Rarely do I rejoice.  I consent, but I do not rejoice.  So, what does it look like to rejoice, even in pain?  Was Jesus rejoicing on the cross? Was He content in Gethsemane?  He wasn’t putting on a facade of Christian “happiness”, that’s for sure.  He was deeply yielded and submitted to the will of His Father… but content?  Rejoicing?  I need to keep searching this out.

2.  My Small Group leader challenged me the other day to not let Charlottesville become my ‘Egypt’.  Ouch.  I felt a wave of conviction shoot through my body.  Listen to Isaiah 31:1- “Woe to those who go down to Egypt for help, and rely on horses, who trust in chariots because they are many, and in horsemen because they are very strong, but who do not look to the Holy One of Israel nor seek the Lord.”  Translated into my current circumstance, I entertain (daily?) thoughts like, “If I were just in Charlottesville…” and “Things would be different if we were back in Charlottesville.”  In my unsettledness here in Kansas City, I often think that simply moving back to Charlottesville would solve my problems.  Then I would be able to rejoice and be content!  But oh, what a tragedy it would be to move back prematurely, before God is finished with us here.  Charlottesville isn’t the solution to my unsettledness.  Jesus is.  Truly.  And I have a feeling that God is on a mission to convince me of that. 

3.  Speaking of missions, at our most recent all-staff meeting, Mark Anderson, international director of the YWAM crusades, shared with our staff some astounding statistics.  Mark also serves as the president of Call2All (call2all.org), a “worldwide movement calling the church to a renewed, focused collaborative effort to fulfill the Great Commission”.  Did you know that many of the heads of top missions organizations are stating that it is probable that the Great Commission will be fulfilled within our lifetime?  This obviously has profound implications… but is also incredibly exciting!  Let it be so, Lord! 

So, Russell and I will leave tomorrow for a trip back to VA.  Stay tuned for some thoughts on the road…

Leave a Reply

Categories

