Posted by: myroadtoemmaus | August 20, 2009

contentment

Contentment. 

This simple little word has been my challenge for the past several months.  I almost feel as if the Lord keeps whispering to me, “Will you choose to be content?  Am I enough for you?”

A quick trip to dictionary.com defines contentment in the Bible as: 

-a state of mind in which one’s desires are confined to his lot whatever it may be

But what if this “lot” isn’t what I thought it would be?  What if it isn’t what I thought I was signing up for?  What if it’s really stinking hard sometimes?  What if it’s lonely?  What if it’s frustrating and confusing? 

And what if this lot is exactly what the Lord has sovereignly whipped up and placed in my lap just to teach me the all-important lesson of how to be content in all circumstances.  Would that make it worth it?  Would it be worth it to learn contentment now when (let’s be honest) life is relatively easy in this part of the Western Hemisphere?  Would it be worth it to learn it now instead of later?  I have a sneaky suspicion that life as we know it is going to get a bit more rocky.  Scripture calls it “shaking everything that can be shaken”.  If that’s the case, a tiny part of me is screaming, “Shake me now, Lord!” so that I will be prepared for the shaking later. 

Contentment isn’t easy.  But, it’s a choice.  It’s not as simple as looking at the glass and calling it half-full.  It’s deeper than that.  It’s rooted in knowing what we deserve and yet rejoicing in what we have been given.  It requires the belief that this world and therefore this life is not all that there is.  It’s a challenge… and I’m determined (though albeit with hesitation) to learn the secret that Paul proclaims to have learned. 

I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.  I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty.  I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.”  -philippians 4:11-12

Responses

  1. good stuff honey. Keep it coming 🙂

  2. hey host

  3. Great word friend!


Leave a Reply

Categories

