Posted by: myroadtoemmaus | March 25, 2010

all this talk about cravings….

I woke up this morning still craving pickles.  But, sadly, I ate them all last night and we are out.  So, I settled for cantelope… which was yummy, too!

One of the drags about pregnancy is that I almost never feel like cooking.  This can lead to an unbalanced diet (so I hear!).  So, I am learning to plan ahead.  Since I have this morning off, I decided to take advantage of my extra time and make some meals ahead of time… by meals, I mean:

1.  Twice Baked Potatoes.  Yum!

2.  The Pioneer Woman’s Cinnamon Rolls.  Double Yum!

3.  Mary Gordon’s Lasagna. 

4.  Honey Oat Bread (thanks to our roomie, Molly)!

5.  The Pioneer Woman’s Cajun Chicken Pasta.

So far, I have made the twice-baked potatoes and the dough is currently rising for the cinnamon rolls.  I can’t wait!!!  Take a look at these:

(photo courtesy of www.thepioneerwoman.com)

Wowzers!!!  Maybe if I eat cantelope for every meal, I can have 7 cinnamon rolls for dessert.  Is that how it works?!?

I’ll keep you posted on how they turn out.  In the meantime, if you haven’t visited the PW blog… you must stop what ever it is that you are doing and go there now.  Right now.  You won’t regret it. 

Back to watching the dough rise…

Responses

  1. I NEVER cooked when I was pregnant. I just couldn’t get past all the smells of different foods. And I can definitely attest that it leads to an unbalanced diet. Saltines and peanut butter were all I ate in the morning for 5months. You are so smart to plan ahead and cook! Those cinnamon rolls look amazing!

  2. PDubs cinnamon rolls are a small taste of heaven on earth for your pallet. Please take a picture of your immediate reaction so we can all experience your joy.

    Can’t wait to hear how all the cooking turns out!

    • Elizabeth – in response to your post: I actually almost fell over upon my first bite of cinnamon roll. It was one of those doughy center ones and the maple flavor finished me off. As I recall my exact reaction was to pound on the countertop and roll my eyes in delight. Oh yes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

