Posted by: myroadtoemmaus | August 1, 2010

filling up the empty places

Have you ever rediscovered a book that impacts you as strongly today as it did the first time you read it?  This has been the case with ‘Come Away My Beloved’, written by Francis Roberts.  I’m pretty sure that Sara gave me this book as a gift while I was in high school, or maybe college.  Either way, it was like drinking a glass of ice-cold lemonade on a scorching day.  Each page seemed to speak right to my heart.  Along with ‘My Utmost for His Highest’ and ‘Secrets of the Secret Place’, this book is one of my all-time favorite devotional books.  I even convinced Elizabeth of the value of this book by throwing in the fact that it is endorsed by Elisabeth Elliot!

Alright, onto the good stuff.  The other day, I read this:

“If there is dryness within your soul and you do not have this life flowing forth, you need not grieve or chide yourself for being empty.  Fill up the empty place with praise. Through praise you may open to Me the gates to your soul’s temple.  The King will enter and bring His glory!”

Empty places exist everywhere around me.  It is easiest for me to see them in the natural.  I walk into the nursery and see the empty place along the side wall where the dresser will be, if Craigslist would just cooperate with my taste and budget.  I look to my right and see the empty place for the glider.  I see empty places on the wall.  I see empty places all over my house.  I see empty places in my bank accounts.  I see empty places in my closet (even though Russell sees it as an overly crowded place- can any other girls relate??).  I see empty places in my future.  I see empty places in my planner.  It is no wonder I consistently am fighting this disease known as discontentment.  When I focus on all of the seemingly empty places in the natural, I can start to think that I don’t have “enough”.

But discontentment is not a product of circumstances, it is the state of the soul.

It is easy to distract myself from the emptiness I often feel inside by focusing on all of the external and circumstantial empty places I see every day.  But the true work that God is doing is happening inside of me.  He is exposing the empty places in my heart and is not letting me run from them.  I feel Him challenging me- ‘If you will learn how to cultivate contentment and a grateful spirit, watch my blessings abound.’  Contentment is a choice.  It begins with gratitude and a thankful heart.  It begins with praise. If I can learn to praise Him in the empty places, I can praise Him anywhere.  I can praise Him everywhere.

Leave a Reply

Categories

