Posted by: myroadtoemmaus | November 1, 2010

some trust in chariots

We left the hospital around 11 last night and drove home mostly in silence.  We were exhausted.  We slept a few hours, woke up at 4:30, and are now back at Children’s Mercy waiting for the doctors to do their rounds.  When we came into the room this morning, we saw what looked like a battle scene…. a battle to get Hannah to sleep scene.  Her crib was a mess, a bouncer chair had been brought in, and then we spotted our baby girl asleep in a swing.  Her nurse informed us that it had been “a long night”.

Please pray for her as she is going on almost 72 hours without any food in her tummy.  The biopsy is scheduled for this morning but we won’t receive the results until tomorrow.  That means that it will be another day without food.

Waiting another day to figure out any answers is going to be challenging but even as we were driving in this morning, I was reminded of the verse in Psalm 20:

“Some trust in chariots and some trust in horses but we trust in the name of the Lord, our God.”

Translated to our situation, I know that whether we receive definitive answers tomorrow or not, whether there is a clear diagnosis and action plan or not, we are called to trust in the Lord.  Please pray for us as we wrestle to do so.

Responses

  1. EJ and Russell, you are on my mind and in my heart. We are all saying lots of prayers for little Hannah and hope they find out what is going on with her little tummy. I wish we were all (all the hundreds, maybe thousands of people who love you) there with you to help get through these days. We are definitely there in heart and prayer. Judy

  2. Oh my… This whole thing just breaks my heart. I am crying as I write now. 😦 trust in the Lord. He will take care of you and Hannah. I just cannot imagine how hard this whole thing is. It just makes me cry. I am sorry this couldn’t be sn easier journey. Please keep us updated.

  3. We are praying! May God be your personal bravery and invincible army.

    “The Lord God is my Strength, my personal bravery, and my invincible army; He makes my feet like hinds’ feet and will make me to walk [not to stand still in terror, but to walk] and make [spiritual] progress upon my high places [of trouble, suffering, or responsibility]!” Habakkuk 3:19

  4. Eliza Joy, our thoughts and prayers are with you– I will praying hard as it is so hard to imagine what you are going through. May God richly bless you and provide for you. What courage you must have to face this, this is so scary as a new mom! It’s scary for me to read what is going on. Fear no evil for God is with you. May a spirit of comfort and strength and grace surround you all. May He sustain you through this time. We are praying for healing hands and restored health as quickly as possible! Much love and prayer!


Leave a Reply

Categories

