Posted by: myroadtoemmaus | April 18, 2011

the story behind baby #2 – part 1

It was the day before Russell’s birthday, February 13th, and we were getting ready to go out on a date.  I had been feeling nauseas on and off for the last few weeks but had tried to just shake it off.  I decided to take a pregnancy test to confirm that my suspicion was just, indeed, a suspicion.  As soon as those two little lines appeared, however, all I could do was laugh.  “Babe, you’re not going to believe this”, I said as I walked out into our bedroom.  As Russell glanced at what I was holding, he responded with, “No…  no, it’s probably wrong.  It can’t be.”  “Yeah, you’re probably right,” I said.  “False positives happen all the time.  Or… maybe that’s false negatives.  Come to think of it, I don’t think there are false positives.  But this one probably is.”

I took another test early the next morning and sure enough, another 2 lines.  It was true.  We were having another baby.

We set off for Colorado a couple of days later with one less set of skis hooked into the rack on top of our car.  As Russell raced down the slopes of Breckenridge and Vail, I spent a large portion of the trip huddled over the toilet.  Yes, it was definitely true.

A few weeks later, we sat inside of the ultrasound room at the doctor’s office.  “How far along do you think you are?” the technician asked.  To be honest, I had no idea.  I guessed 6 or 7 weeks.  But as soon as the image popped up on the screen, she said “Oh honey!  You are not 6 or 7 weeks along… you are 10 and a half!  That will give you a due date of…. October 7.”

October 7th??  Like just four days before Hannah’s first birthday??  Meaning we’ll have 2 babies under the age of 1??  Again, all we could do was laugh.

To be continued…

Responses

  1. Wow! What an amazing gift! That’s just amazing! I am laughing with you all! =) We’re here if and when you need help! =)

  2. I love that story Eliza Joy! So sorry you couldn’t enjoy the slopes though 😦 Your kids will be so close (as in they will love each other well!) You’re blessed! 🙂

  3. Oh my gosh!!! I’m LOL! That is super crazy!!!! I can’t hardly believe it. I’m so excited and happy for you and shocked to pieces. In a good way! And you’ve known for awhile too. CRAZY! I thought you just found out… Two babies under 1?!? The Lord has definitely given you a fruitful womb. 🙂 And I’m glad you found out before you braved the slopes. Are you going to For Women Only again?

  4. i love this story!

  5. Laughter will see you through a lot of rough patches.
    “A merry heart does good like a medicine. ” (Proverbs 17:22)

  6. WAHOOOOOO!

  7. Irish Twins! My sister and I were 13 months apart (and my mom got grief that we weren’t within 12 months from the irish side of my dad’s fam) and it’s been great. Congrats! Potty Training for two will be a cinch.

  8. Girl, I am right there with you. Just found out I am going to have 3 under 3 as of December 9! We are living parallel lives right now!


Leave a Reply

Categories

