Posted by: myroadtoemmaus | November 30, 2011

casual parenting in the computer age

Russell here.  Just thought I would add my $0.02.

The name of the title is exactly what I was doing.  I was supposed to give Hannah a bath while Eliza Joy was out running errands.  Hannah likes time in the tub, so I figured I would plunk her down in there for a bit and let her play – while using my laptop.  I was sitting on the toilet only 3 feet from her.  I would glance over every 10-20 seconds to make sure she wasn’t standing up, which is about the only thing that she does that would worry me.  Until today.

About five minutes into her bath I look over and see that she has something in her hands.  I had given her two floaty plastic toys that are little ducks or frogs or something like that to play with (that is how ribbiting, errr, riveting I think they are).  Anyway, they are twice the size of her hand, and it wasn’t one of those.  That is when I looked in the tub and saw it – the giant poop that she had just dispensed into the water.  It was floating all over the place.  It was also in her hand.  And she had just attempted to eat some of it.

I think I really startled her when I jumped up and starting yelling “No! No! No! No!” – though it didn’t seem to make her not want to play with this new mysterious play-dough.  Needless to say, cleaning up water logged poop chunks isn’t my new favorite activity.  So next time your kid is playing calmly in the tub, make sure you pay attention more carefully that me.

Responses

  1. Thanks for the insite, Russel. Haha

  2. love it! 🙂

  3. gross. but i’ve been there. just last week

  4. At my baby shower a friend gave me a fish net (one that is generally associated with fish tanks) that had ribbons all over the handle. A note attached read that it was a bath time -pooper-scooper. You may want to invest in one. They’re great!

  5. Those were the days….

  6. Awe Russell! Every dad has to have at least one experience like that! You are a great dad!


Leave a Reply

Categories

